the GAIA calendar  
Today is: Wolf 8, 19 (red sphinx moon)

In gregorian year 2001 (GAIA year 1) the twin towers of babylon fell which subsequently pushed a large part of humanity to re-evaluate our ways and recognize disharmony in current systems. A small group of thinkers in Canada decided to take this questioning into the realm of new possibilities. This led to finding a new way to look at time, and building a calendar which was based entirely on natural rhythms and cycles.

In order to create this 'natural' calendar, we studied calendrics from all cultures, including ancient mayan systems such as the Tzolkin or long-count. However, to accomodate both solar and lunar cycles, both of which are very important to earth's nature, we developed a two-part calendar which gives it great distinction from all other known calendars.
The first part is the [ solar ], which essentially follows the seasonal cycles starting on the first day of spring. After taking this approach, we found that the GAIA calendar actually is the simplest and easiest to to understand calendar system we have ever seen. Here is what it looks like:

 spring   summer   fall   winter

There are 12 months (also described as "solar tribes"), each of which is named after a north american animal. The first six months (FALCON to BEAR) have 31 days. These are the spring and summer months. The last six months (RAVEN to WOLF) have 30 days - the fall and winter months. The only exception here is the last month, Wolf, which normally only has 29 days unless it is a leap year (every four years), in which case a day is added to make it 30 days for Wolf that year.

The GAIA year 1 correlates to Gregorian Year 2001, so this also makes a transition between the two calendars fairly easy. GAIA leap years also coincide with Gregorioan leap years. For example, GAIA year 4 (Gregorian: 2004) is a leap year.

That's it! It really is the simplest calendar in the world, and it syncs perfectly with solar-seasonal and astrological cycles. Falcon 1 is the Spring Equinox, Salmon 1 is the Summer Solstice, Raven 1 is Fall Equinox and Goat 1 is the Winter Solstice.

This is what today's GAIA date looks like: Wolf 8, 19

The second part of this calendar is the [ lunar ]. We identify the moon's period by simple language. This is where the GAIA calendar gets a little magical. The moon has always represented imagination and creativity. Therefore, we use imaginary creatures taken from folklore from all over the world in order to describe 8 lunar periods.

PHOENIXnew moon
SPHINXwaxing crescent
VALKYRIEfirst quarter (half moon)
LOTOwaxing gibbous
DRAGONfull moon
KUMIHOwaning gibbous
MAMIWATAthird quarter (half moon)
PEGASUSwaning crescent

Each of these periods is further divided into moon tones - white, red, black, and silver. There will always be a white, red and black tone for each period. Sometimes there is also a "silver" tone. The reason for this is because the moon's eliptical orbit around the earth causes interesting tone-day distributions.

For example: "red dragon" is the full moon and "red phoenix" is the new moon. These moon tones and periods can help you manage your time in unconventional ways. Instead of arranging your lifestyle according to the standard week-cycle, you may look at the moon periods and realize you can be more productive by managing your schedule according to the moon's cycle.

In order to easily visualize these moon tones and periods in context with a day-to-day activity, we have created a separate and very unique calendar layout called the [ solar-lunar ] view. This is a new approach on how to view a calendar. The days are arranged by moon periods and tone groups as opposed to by week. If this view is a little too out-of-the-box for you, we recommend using our simpler [ solar ] or [ time-scroll ] views.

this web site designed and developed by mindcraft inc.